CLV Calculator – Customer Lifetime Value

Published: 2026-04-04 · Tools · Ricky Bandelin

CLV, or customer lifetime value, is the total amount a customer will spend with your company over the lifetime that they are with you. This number helps you understand how much to invest to acquire a new customer, and how much you can invest in keeping them.

Key Takeaways

To calculate CLV you will need the average amount of purchase and the number of times a customer buys per year. When it comes to the length of time a customer stays with you, you can use CRM software to calculate your average or find the average for your industry.

CLV = average value of a purchase × number of times the customer will buy each year × average length of the customer relationship (in years). For example, if your store sells an average of $150 worth of product once a year but keeps customers for an average of 10 years, the CLV would be $1,500.

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